Book a Table in the Moldy Fig - Open for Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner


About this event

Member ticket only - £20
Non-members ticket only– £25

Member ticket only - £50

Non-members ticket only– £55

Hotel Deal - Dinner Bed & Breakfast plus tickets just £159 per couple

Doors Open 7pm

On Stage 8.15pm


The "Salute to Humphrey Lyttelton” is to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Humphrey Lyttelton’s birth and to showcase his wonderful life, times and  music.


Created by jazz trumpeter and life-long fan, Chris Hodgkins, the tour will highlight how Humphrey Lyttelton led the way for the jazz revival of the late ’40s and ’50s and brought jazz to the mainstream with the first UK jazz record to reach the Top20, ‘Bad Penny Blues’.


Affectionately known as "Humph”, he was of course just as well-known for his broadcasting work, as the host of Radio 2’s The Best of Jazz and Radio 4’s ‘I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue’.


To do justice to Humph’s life and heritage, Chris Hodgkins, himself a stalwart of the British jazz scene, has put together an impressive ten-piece band featuring top UK and US musicians.


The band features,  Chris Hodgkins – trumpet, Henry Lowther – trumpet,

Charlotte Glasson – sax, Diane McLoughlin – sax, Mark Bassey – trombone

Alison Rayner – double bass, Buster Birch – drums, Alex Clarke – sax, And all the way from the USA…– sax, Jinjoo Yoo – piano, Wayne Wilkinson – guitar


The band will play many of Humphrey’s original compositions and arrangements as well as new pieces composed especially for the tour.


A travelling exhibition on Humph’s life and times will also accompany the tour and will consist of a multi-media presentation and visual archive display based on Humph’s writings and journals.